Life as it happens. Time as it passes.

Chelsey Grace: Indelible Images

I’m fond of imagining the future. That’s probably because I’m also fond of looking back to the past. And the past is best served in indelible images.

Someday, when I’m all worn out, wearied and weak as an old man, I’ll get the chance to look back to this one particular moment–the birth of Chelsey–and reminisce how God has been gracious and kind to me for lending me the heritage of life.

As always the detail checker, I profiled my daughter’s features already, and I found out that Chelsey got my eyes, ears, and nose. As for the part that Cess shared, Chelsey got her mom’s lips and hairy features. Since the parents are both fairskinned, Chelsey’s skin has that pinkish glow.

As a new dad, I’m slowly learning the tricks, and in some ways the travails, of fatherhood (the work of the mom is a given, and for that I appreciate my Princess for gladly embracing and performing her new found role as a nursing mother). A lot of dads in the church gave me a heads-up about becoming part of the “sleepless nights club,” and my baptism of fire came exactly on the first night that we were out of the hospital and staying at our house. I would wake up every 20 minutes, mostly because of Chelsey’s baby cries, but at other times just to watch my precious child sleep peacefully. It’s been three days now since I became an official father, and I haven’t had a decent sleep in as much days. Fret not, my friends. I can live with that.

I still get paranoid at times–when Chelsey cries and I don’t have a single clue why, or whenever I would hold her in my arms, or just about every time I’m near her. I often find myself calling Cess to see if I’m doing things right. My wife will always dismiss my paranoia with a kiss to cheek, and the ever-assuring statement “Yes ga, tama yan!”

I’m right now blogging at the bus, going to Subic for a staff outing and meeting. Cess was supposed to be in this trip, had she not given birth 17 days ahead. But 34 days from now, the church will be having its family camp, and by then Cess and Chelsey will be fit enough to join the camp.

By then, I’ll have more indelible images to keep, share, and treasure for the rest of my life.

Leave a Reply

