Life as it happens. Time as it passes.

Chelsey Grace: A Week After…

I was supposed to do a twenty-day countdown from November 12 to December 2, the latest date the doctors predicted Chelsey would come out. Apparently, I spoke too soon.

19 days too soon.

Yesterday, Chelsey Grace turned a week old, pretty much an achievement for a baby who came out nineteen days ahead of her due date. The scenes of that Saturday afternoon a week ago is still very fresh in my head. In fact, I kind of memorized the story’s script already, thanks to the multiple number of times I’ve been asked by everybody about how it went. Luckily, I haven’t grown tired or sick retelling the happenings n times over and over.

And maybe I won’t.

People have been telling me how pretty my daughter is, both now and later when she’s all grown up.

I looked at the mirror and I figured out why. But what I saw was just one half of the equation.

The other half was inside the room with my daughter… my Princess, of course.

Truth is, I’ve been the one taking all the pictures. But Princess is the one taking more time with Chelsey. I’m out of the house almost the entire day, and the only few times I get to spend time with Chelsey are the moments when she’s either sleeping or feeding. My wife, on the other hand, has been in constant bonding with her baby girl day in and day out. She can stay up late in the wee hours of the morning, just to check my daughter’s diapers, sleeping position, and every minute details that half-asleep, half-unconscious dads miss.

In just seven days, Chelsey has already transformed our lives, both me and Cess, beyond what we ever imagined in the last nine months we waited for this bundle of joy to come.

And I’m pretty sure she’s bound top surprise us even more in the days, weeks, and months to come.

Leave a Reply

