Life as it happens. Time as it passes.

“Grabe ang init!” and Other Statements You’ll Hear This Summer

As of this writing, I have changed clothes for the fifth time. No, its not because I have the luxury of clothes, but rather because the scorching heat of Isabela has been making me sweat like a pig on a roasting pit.

I’m quite sure the sun here in Isabela is the same in Manila, but I can’t explain why it seems hotter here. I was thinking of how to explain this phenomenon, but the attempt is just making me sweat more. So I’ll stop the futile attempt and just admit the fact that, indeed, it’s very hot.

I’m hoping you will bear with me as I rant about the unusual heat wave blazing across the Philippines, which will probably run until just before June. That means three months of hearing the statement, “Grabe ang init!”

Here are the other top ten statements you’ll start hearing this summer:

2. “ANG SARAP MALIGO!”

3. “BILI TAYO NG ICE CREAM!”

4. “GUSTO KO NG HALU-HALO!”

5. “TARA, MIGRATE NA TAYO SA MALAMIG!”

6. “PUNTA TAYO NG BORA!”

7. “AKYAT TAYO NG BAGUIO!”

8. “SARAP MAG-SLURPEE SIGURO!”

9. “TUBIIIIG!”

10. “SUNOOOOG!”

Leave a Reply

